Travel Insurance

What is Schengen Travel Insurance?

As per the Schengen agreement, 26 selected European countries belong to the Schengen area. To travel to these countries, a Schengen travel insurance policy is required per the Schengen rules. You must have a valid Schengen travel insurance policy that conforms to Schengen regulations to visit any Schengen country. You can obtain Schengen travel insurance from major reputed providers such as Bharti AXA.

Countries included in the Schengen travel insurance policy

The 26 European countries that are included under the travel insurance policy are Austria, Czech Republic, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Luxembourg, Estonia, Germany, France, Italy, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Iceland, Malta, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Norway, Netherlands, Slovenia, Poland, Spain, Portugal, Slovakia, Switzerland, and Sweden.

You must have Schengen travel insurance to get a visa to any of these countries.
  • Why do you need Schengen travel insurance?
  • Schengen travel insurance offers cashless hospitalization coverage.
  • It covers accidental injuries that might occur on the trip.
  • It offers personal accident cover.
  • It also offers third-party damage cover.
  • Emergency medical expenses incurred during the trip are covered under this insurance policy.
  • It also offers medical evacuation cover.
  • Loss of a passport is also covered under the policy.
  • The policy offers coverage for the total loss of checked-in baggage.

Requirements for Schengen Visa Insurance

  • Your Schengen travel insurance must have a minimum coverage of 30,000 euros.
  • The policy must cover unforeseen medical emergencies like illnesses, accidental injury, etc.

This medical travel insurance must be valid in all 26 Schengen countries.
  • Types of Schengen Visa
  • National Visa
  • Tourist Visa
  • Airport Transit Visa
  • Business Visa
  • Visiting Family and Friends
  • Study Visa
  • Official Visit
  • Medical Reasons
  • Schengen Visa Procedure

The procedure for a Schengen visa must be started 15 days before the trip by submitting the visa application. You should apply for it 30-60 days before the trip. The application can also be submitted 3 months before taking the trip.

The things to consider apart from the Schengen travel insurance policy while applying for the Schengen visa are:

If you are planning to visit only one Schengen country, then you must apply for a visa with the particular country’s consulate or embassy.

If you are visiting more than one country, you must apply for a visa with the consulate or embassy of your leading destination country.

If you are planning to visit more than one country and there is no leading destination, you can apply for a visa with the consulate or embassy of the country from where you will be entering the Schengen territory.