President Cyril Ramaphosa GNU

Just over a month ago, on May 29th, the people of South Africa voted in a watershed election.

In casting their votes, the people made it clear that they expect political parties to work together to deliver on a mandate of transformation, growth and renewal.

To implement this mandate, it was agreed that a Government of National Unity, which brings together parties from across the political spectrum, should be formed.

This Government of National Unity would be bound by certain fundamental principles and would undertake a basic minimum program of priorities.

Following discussions over the course of the last few weeks, a total of eleven parties have elected to work together in government and in Parliament.

These include:

  • Ministries of Electricity and Energy will now be merged;
  • Ministry for Mineral and Petroleum Resources;
  • Ministry of Agriculture separate from Land Reform and Rural Development;
  • Separate the Ministry of Higher Education from Science, Technology and Innovation;
  • Separate the Ministry Justice and Constitutional Development from Correctional Services;
  • Dissolve the Ministry of Public Enterprises.

There are now 32 ministries.

The following parties are represented in Cabinet as ministers:

  • African National Congress (ANC);
  • Democratic Alliance (DA);
  • Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP);
  • Patriotic Alliance (PA);
  • Freedom Front Plus (FF +);
  • Pan Africanist Congress (PAC);
  • GOOD.

The table below outlines all the changes:

Ministry Position6th Administration7th Administration
Deputy PresidentPaul Mashatile (ANC)Paul Mashatile (ANC)
Electricity and EnergyKgosientsho Ramokgopa (ANC) and Gwede Mantashe (ANC)Kgosientsho Ramokgopa (ANC)
Presidency: Planning, monitoring and evaluationMaropene Ramokgopa (ANC)Maropene Ramokgopa (ANC)
Minister in the PresidencyKhumbudzo Ntshavheni (ANC)Khumbudzo Ntshavheni (ANC)
Women, Youth and Persons With DisabilitiesNkosazana Dlamini-Zuma (ANC)Sindisiwe Chikunga (ANC)
AgricultureThoko Didiza (ANC)John Steenhuisen (DA)
Land Reform and Rural DevelopmentThoko Didiza (ANC)Mzwanele Nyhontso (PAC)
Basic EducationAngie Motshekga (ANC)Siviwe Gwarube (DA)
Communications and Digital TechnologiesMondli Gungubele (ANC)Solly Malatsi (DA)
Cooperative Governance and Traditional AffairsThembi Nkadimeng (ANC)Velenkhosi Hlabisa (IFP)
Defence and Military VeteransThandi Modise (ANC)Angie Motshekga (ANC)
Employment and LabourThulas Nxesi (ANC)Nomakhosazana Meth (ANC)
Forestry, Fisheries and Environment,Barbara Creecy (ANC)Dr. Dion George (DA)
FinanceEnoch Godongwana (ANC)Enoch Godongwana (ANC)
HealthJoe Phaahla (ANC)Dr. Aaron Motsoeledi (ANC)
Science and Technology and InnovationBlade Nzimande (SACP/ANC)Blade Nzimande (SACP/ANC)
Higher EducationBlade Nzimande (SACP/ANC)Dr. Nobuhle Nkabane (ANC)
Home AffairsAaron Motsoaledi (ANC)Leon Schreiber (DA)
Human SettlementsMmamoloko Kubayi (ANC)Mmamoloko Kubayi (ANC)
International Relations and CooperationNaledi Pandor (ANC)Ronald Lamola (ANC)
Justice and Constitutional DevelopmentRonald Lamola (ANC)Thembi Nkadimeng (ANC)
Correctional ServicesRonald Lamola (ANC)Dr. Pieter Groenewald (FF+)
Mineral and Petroleum ResourcesGwede Mantashe (ANC)Gwede Mantashe (ANC)
PoliceBheki Cele (ANC)Senzo Mchunu (ANC)
Public EnterprisesPravin Gordhan (ANC)N/A
Public Service and AdministrationNoxolo Kiviet (ANC)Inkosi Mzamo Buthelezi (IFP)
Public Works and InfrastructureSihle Zikalala (ANC)Dean Macpherson (DA)
Small Business DevelopmentStella Ndabeni-Abrahams (ANC)Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams (ANC)
Social DevelopmentLindiwe Zulu (ANC)Sisisi Tolashe (ANC)
Sports, Arts and CultureZizi Kodwa (Resigned) (ANC)Gayton Mackenzie (PA)
TourismPatricia de Lille (GOOD)Patricia de Lille (GOOD)
Trade, Industry and CompetitionEbrahim Patel (ANC)Parks Tau (ANC)
TransportSindisiwe Chikunga (ANC)Barbara Creecy (ANC)
Water and SanitationSenzo Mchunu (ANC)Pemmy Majodina (ANC)
Note: * department has been split or changed since the sixth administration.

Deputy ministers are appointed by the President, but are not members of the Cabinet. They rather assist the abovementioned cabinet ministers in the execution of their duties.

The following parties have representation as deputy ministers:

  • ANC;
  • DA;
  • IFP;
  • Al Jama-ah;
  • United Democratic Movement (UDM).

Below is the changes in deputy ministers.

Note that deputy ministers are appointed by the President, and are not members of the Cabinet. They rather assist the abovementioned cabinet ministers in the execution of their duties. 

Deputy Ministry Position6th Administration7th Administration
The PresidencyNomasonto Motaung (ANC) & Kenneth Morolong (ANC)Nonceba Mhlauli (ANC) & and Kenneth Morolong (ANC)
Women, Youth and Persons With DisabilitiesSisisi Tolashe (ANC)Mmapaseka Steve Letsike (ANC)
Electricity and EnergySamantha Graham (DA)
AgricultureRosemary Capa (ANC)Rosemary Nokuzola Capa (ANC)
Basic EducationReginah Mhaule (ANC)Reginah Mhaule (ANC)
Communications and Digital TechnologiesPhilly Mapulane (ANC)Mondli Gungubele (ANC)
Cooperative Governance and Traditional AffairsParks Tau (ANC) & Zolile Burns-Ncamashe (ANC)Dickson Masemola (ANC) and Zolile Burns‐Ncamashe (ANC)
Correctional ServicesPatekile Holomisa (ANC)Lindiwe Ntshalintshali (ANC)
Defence and Military VeteransThabang Makwetla (ANC)Bantu Holomisa (UDM) and Richard Mkhungo (ANC)
Employment and LabourBoitumelo Moloi (ANC)Jomo Sibiya (ANC) and Phumzile Mgcina (ANC)
Environment, Forestry and FisheriesMaggie Sotyu (ANC)Narend Singh (IFP) and Bernice Swarts (ANC)
FinanceDavid Masondo (ANC)David Masondo (ANC) and Ashor Sarupen (DA)
HealthSibongiseni Dhlomo (ANC)Joe Phaahla (ANC)
Science, Technology and InnovationButi Manamela (ANC)Nomalungelo Gina (ANC)
Higher EducationButi Manamela (ANC)Buti Manamela (ANC) and Mimmy Gondwe (DA)
Home AffairsNjabulo Nzuza (ANC)Njabulo Nzuza (ANC)
Human SettlementsPam Tshwete (ANC)Tandi Mahambehlala (ANC)
International Relations and CooperationCandith Mashego-Dlamini (ANC) & Alvin Botes (ANC)Alvin Botes (ANC) and Tandi Moraka (ANC)
Justice and Constitutional DevelopmentJohn Jeffery (ANC)Andries Nel (ANC)
Land ReformMcebisi Skwatsha (ANC)Chupu Stanley Mathabatha (ANC)
Mineral and Petroleum ResourcesNobuhle Nkabane (ANC)Judith Nemadzinga‐Tshabalala (ANC)
PoliceCassel Mathale (ANC)Polly Boshielo (ANC) and Cassel Mathale (ANC)
Public EnterprisesObed Bapela (ANC)N/A
Planning, Monitoring and EvaluationPinky Kekana (ANC)Judith Nemadzinga‐Tshabalala (ANC)
Public Service and AdministrationChana Pilane-Majake (ANC)Pinky Kekana (ANC)
Public Works and InfrastructureBernice Swarts (ANC)Sihle Zikalala (ANC)
Small Business DevelopmentDipuo Peters (Suspended) (ANC)Jane Sithole (DA)
Social DevelopmentHendrietta Bogopane-Zulu (ANC)Ganief Hendricks (Al Jama-ah)
Sports, Arts and CultureNocawe Mafu (ANC)Peace Mabe (ANC)
TourismAmos Fish Mahlalela (ANC)Maggie Sotyu (ANC)
Trade, Industry and CompetitionFikile Majola (ANC) & Nomalungelo Gina (ANC)Zuko Godlimpi (ANC) and Andrew Whitfield (DA)
TransportLisa Mangcu (ANC)Mkhuleko Hlengwa (IFP)
Water and SanitationDavid Mahlobo (ANC) &
Judith Tshabalala (ANC)
David Mahlobo (ANC) and Isaac Seitlholo (DA)

Deputy President is Paul Mashatile
Deputy President is Paul Mashatile

John Steenhuisen is a Minister of Agriculture.
John Steenhuisen is a Minister of Agriculture.

Gayton McKenzie is a Minister of Sports, Arts and Culture.
Gayton McKenzie is a Minister of Sports, Arts and Culture. 

Senzo Mchunu is a Minister of Police.
Senzo Mchunu is a Minister of Police.

Angie Motshekga is a Minister of Defence and Millitary Vets.
Angie Motshekga is a Minister of Defence and Millitary Vets.

New Minister of Basic Education,  Siviwe Gwarube.
New Minister of Basic Education,  Siviwe Gwarube.

Leon Schreiber (DA) is the new Minister of Home Affairs.
Leon Schreiber (DA) is the new Minister of Home Affairs.