The Edge Search

Breaking News

Social media and privacy


Introduction
People are worried about their privacy online. That's right. Especially in social networks, it is crucial to be careful because your behaviour, decisions, and interests are valuable to advertisers. And the advertising departments are increasingly reviewing your Facebook profile.

Firstly, we will start with the institution that is most important: who can see what you post on Facebook? Undeniably, you have noticed the effect of this when you clicked on the profile of someone else and were presented with an almost empty page. This person has indicated that people who are not Facebook friends with them cannot see anything that is placed on their page. This is easily configured for yourself.

Who can contact me?

When your popularity on social networks increases, it is possible that the number of friendship requests will suddenly be depleted. This can also be the case if you abruptly end up in the sights of spammers. Irritating, because before you know it, you reject the people you wanted to accept.

Under the title ‘Who can contact me?’ You have two options, which are ‘Everyone’ and ‘Friends of friends.’ The latter is the safest option because only people who are friends of your current Facebook friends can add you and subsequently a kind of social control comes into effect. Moreover, you can also prevent your Facebook message box from being filled with spam messages, by clicking on Who can contact me? Click Edit next to Basic Filtering and select Strict Filtering. Messages that do not come from your friends will end up in the Other mailbox.

True privacy doesn’t exist

In this article, we will give you some practical tips to restrict several social network accounts for discretion. At the same time, it is vital to know that true privacy does not exist. Companies do not always obey the rules or apply innovative methods to circumvent existing regulations, so they can still make use of their data, which is highly valuable to them. But does it make sense to adjust all these different settings? Absolutely, it will protect you as much as possible, but it is also critical to take into account the fact that your privacy is never assured and that you may not be able to share some things.

Now you know how you can prevent someone from seeing the content of your Facebook page, but what happens if you do not want someone to find your page on Facebook at all? For instance, because you are a school teacher and don’t want to be added by students or because you have a public function that makes it inconvenient to be on Facebook.

Without a doubt, you have logged into a website with the help of a Facebook account, where you have given permission to that website to use specific Facebook data. It may not always hurt, but eventually many sites have free access to your data, and that is not the intention. Therefore, it is absolutely safe to click on Settings > Applications from time to time to see which applications currently have access to your personal information.
Be careful who you give permission

If there are typical applications that you haven’t used for a while or maybe never, it is sensible to eliminate them. After all, the fewer people who have access to your data the better, and if you ever use the website or the application again, you can just log in again with Facebook. But even though you delete an app from Facebook, the company from the app might not erase your data, which is a good reminder of the fact that you have to be really careful with who you give access to your data. Besides that, Facebook also shows a lot of ads that you may be interested in because some of your friends might be interested in them. You can also disable this. By the way, it is recommended that you check these adjustments from time to time because Facebook makes changes on a regular basis.


Safety features

Facebook also has a series of useful configurations that make it difficult for other people to enter your account. The first option is verification login. This means that it is no longer sufficient to log in with your email address and password, but you will also receive a verification code on your mobile phone that you must enter to access your account. In the menu, you will find many more settings to protect your account. In this way, you can verify where you have logged in at which moment and can disconnect anywhere or on specific devices with the touch of a button. You can also receive a message when someone tries to log in with your account, and you can designate friends who can help you return to your account when you can no longer log in.
Instagram and privacy

The same rules for Facebook apply to Instagram, a successful social networking site. Even though Instagram doesn’t have as much information about you as Facebook does, it would be wise to also alter the privacy settings on your Instagram account. And as with most social networking applications, the default privacy settings allow your profile and posts to be seen by any other user. But now you know it is dangerous to have the privacy settings in default, what can you do to make your account and posts more secure? You can begin with making your Instagram account private. If you are worried that you will not receive as many likes when your account is private, you can buy Instagram likes. When you do, you should make your account public just until you receive your bought likes, and then you can make it private again. Like this, you will still have many likes, but your privacy will be protected. You can do this by going to settings and turning on the ‘private account’ setting. Once you do this, people that want to follow you have to send you a request which you can accept or deny. But besides turning your account to private, what more can you do to protect your privacy? You can limit the amount of personal information on your account, and you don’t have to use your real name if you don’t want to. You can also block people that followed you before you make your account private.

It’s worth remembering that even though you protect your privacy on Instagram if you share your posts elsewhere on social media, they may be visible to other people.

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner