South Africa will receive new number plates in 2017, reports the Department of Transport.
News of the new number plates first came to light in 2015 when the Department of Transport sent out a notice informing South Africans of its intended plan of action.

The new plates, says the department, will have to be renewed every five years. Wheels24 has contacted the Department of Transport regarding costs and a roll-out plan.

Under the new law, the new number plates must contain:

  1.   SABS certification below the licence mark of the province.
  2.   Four dimensional bar code with QR code.
  3.   The abbreviated name of the manufacturer of the blank number plate.
  4.   The unique non-transferable of the blank number plate.

The letters and figures are set to be displayed in the following colours:

  1.   Black - public transport vehicles.
  2.   Blue - general vehicles and personalised number plates.
  3.   Red - government vehicles.
  4.   Green - diplomatic vehicles.

New number plates must display:

  1.   SA flag on the top left corner.
  2.   Licence number and licence mark of the province.
  3.   The name of the province under the SA flag, and centred on top of the number plate.