There will be 59 people vying to fill Public Protector Thuli Madonsela’s shoes.
This after the list of candidates was whittled down from candidates who declined and those who did not respond to their nominations, Parliament’s public protector ad hoc committee said on Tuesday.
Members of the public have until July 8 to make objections to any of these candidates.
Committee chairperson Makhosi Khoza said there were 73 nominations by Friday, and seven candidates had declined. 
These included Finance Minister Nhlanhla Nene, prosecutor Gerrie Nel and former first lady Graca Machel, she said.
She said candidates such as former President Thabo Mbeki were not formally nominated through the process, but verbally, and therefore were not considered.
"The Committee is very impressed with the calibre of nominees and applicants received and this is an indication that South Africans thoroughly applied their minds in putting forward their nominees," she said.
The CVs will be released on Parliament’s website," she said. 
"We are all trying to get the best public protector."
She said over 90% of the candidates met the requirements.
Candidates would receive a questionnaire to complete and return it to the committee to help with the shortlisting process and interviews
The questionnaires are also due July 8. 
Khoza said they would like to have the shortlisting of candidates done as soon as possible thereafter.
The committee will do interviews after the August 3 elections and have until August 31 to present a candidate to the National Assembly.

Madonsela’s term ends October 1.

The full list of candidates nominated for the post of Public Protector
1. Bernard Peter Agulhas 
2. Adv Rhulani Ralph Baloyi 
3. Melanie Bernard (Fryer) 
4. Prof Narnia Bohler-Muller 
5. Vincent James Botto 
6. Adv Nonkosi Princess Cetywayo 
7. Raymond Edward Chalom 
8. Prof Pierre de Vos 
9. Judge Sirajudien Desai 
10. Phillip Dexter 
11. Adv Pumeza Futshane 
12. Adv Andrea Gabriel SC 
13. Nombonisa Gasa (nomination declined)
14. Adv Mathys Johannes Gildenhuys 
15. Adv MT Goodman (nee Shai) 
16. Pregs Govender 
17. Adv Mojankunyane Gumbi 
18. Prof Alexander Mzamo Gumbi 
19. Adv Mark Andrew Hawyes 
20. Nick Haysom 
21. Adv William Andrew Hofmeyr 
22. Adv Zarina Kellerman (nee Prasadh) 
23. Adv KB Kgoroeadira 
24. Ashook Kirpal 
25. Burt Silverston Laing 
26. Ms Muvhango Lukhaimane 
27. Gra├ža Simbine Machel (nomination declined) 
28. Adv Zwelethu Madasa 
29. Adv Thuli Madonsela (term not renewable)
30. Prince Sefako Mafojane 
31. Zola Majavu (nomination declined) 
32. Adv Mohale Joseph Maluleke 
33. Adv Kevin Sifiso Malunga 
34. Lynnette Gail Marais 
35. Busisiwe Mkhwebane 
36. Vickqus Nkosikhona Mncube 
37. Adv Hishaam Mohamed 
38. M Mohlala-Mulaudzi 
39. Justice Yvonne Mokgoro (nominated declined) 
40. Adv Chris Madibeng Mokoditwa 
41. Ronnie Samuel Mokoena 
42. Thokwane Phineas Post Moloto 
43. Tjitlo Monaledi 
44. Audrey Mpofu 
45. Adv Dali Mpofu SC 
46. Adv Loyiso Khanyisa Bunye Mpumlwana 
47. M Mthebule 
48. Adv MM Mthembu 
49. Themba Phillip Mthethwa 
50. Adv Philani Pilatu Sydney Mthethwa 
51. Janine Kim Myburgh 
52. Krish Naidoo 
53. Gerrie Nel (nomination declined) 
54. Nhlanhla Nene (nomination declined) 
55. Malcolm John Sphiwe Nhleko 
56. Sophy Moipone Noko 
57. Vuyokazi Pamella Noncembu 
58. Nokuthula Sincercia Nwaoshai 
59. Mthuthuzeki Moshesh Nyiki 
60. Jill Claudelle Oliphant 
61. Adv Vusi Pikoli (nomination declined) 
62. Kaajal Ramjathan-Keogh 
63. Tshepiso David Humphrey Ramphele 
64. Riaz Achmed Saloojee 
65. Jonas Ben Sibanyoni 
66. MBoiki-John Tamako 
67. Bawinile May Thabethe (nomination declined) 
68. Adv Tseliso Thipanyane 
69. Adv Randal Titus 
70. Khunoana Harry Tswago 
71. Vuyisa Vuza 
72. Hermanus Lambertus Waldicks 
73. Justice Sharise Weiner