They are among 14 high-profile ANC leaders who will be able to say with a straight face that they did not vote against the impeachment of President Jacob Zuma in Parliament — because they were registered as “absent” when the vote was tallied.
Among them are high-profile ministers and former ministers‚ including the trade and industry minister‚ Rob Davies‚ who had publicly praised the deputy finance minister‚ Mcebisi Jonas‚ for announcing that he had been approached by the Gupta family to be finance minister.
The former police commissioner‚ Bheki Cele‚ who was fired by Zuma after the Sunday Times exposed his role in dodgy police lease deals‚ was another of the well-known personalities who was out of the House when the vote was taken. Cele is deputy agriculture minister.
Also absent was education minister‚ Angie Motshekga.
Winnie Madikizela-Mandela did not vote‚ but she had the most legitimate excuse. It has since emerged that she was hospitalised and underwent surgery on her back.
The African National Congress has stated that it accepts the absent MPs had legitimate reasons for not being in the House.
The ANC’s deputy chief whip Doris Dlakude told a news conference that the party had apologies from all 14 and that these were backed up by medical certificates or evidence of official business outside Parliament.
 The ANC MPs who were absent for the vote were:
- Trevor Bonhomme
- Bheki Cele
- Rob Davies
- Angie Motshekga
- Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams
- B Newhoudt-Druchen
- NT November
- RA Nyalungu
- Maureen Scheepers
- Elizabeth Thabethe
- N Gina
- NW Madikizela-Mandela
-J Mahlangu
- B Nesi‚ and
- SL Tsenoli (Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly‚ who was presiding).
The names were supplied to TMG Digital by the Office of the Chief Whip of the Opposition‚ John Steenhuisen‚ a Democratic Alliance MP.

- TMG Digital/