President Cyril Ramaphosa has announced changes to his cabinet — including a new deputy president and ministers of electricity, transport, and public service and administration.

Speaking in a broadcast address on Monday, 6 March 2023, Ramaphosa said that the purpose of the changes is to fill vacancies that have occurred and to direct government more effectively towards areas that require urgent and decisive action.

“All parts of government are focussed on addressing those issues that concern South Africans the most,” he said.

“They being load-shedding, unemployment, poverty, the rising cost of living, crime, and corruption.”

As was expected, the Minister of Electricity in the Presidency, a new position Ramaphosa announced during his state of the nation address in early February 2023, will be Kgosientso Ramokgopa.

Ramokgopa previously served as mayor of the City of Tshwane and was the head of investment and infrastructure in the president’s office until today.

The electricity minister’s primary role will be to improve Eskom’s power station performance.

“To effectively oversee the electricity crisis response, the appointed minister will have political responsibility, authority, and control over all critical aspects of the energy action plan,” Ramaphosa said.

Ramaphosa also announced a dedicated ministry within the Presidency for planning, monitoring, and evaluation to focus more on the government’s performance.

Mondli Gungubele, the new communications minister, was previously responsible for state security and planning, monitoring, and evaluation within the Presidency.

Khumbudzo Ntshavheni, the former Minister of Communications and Digital Technologies, will take over Gungubele’s previous responsibility over state security and other tasks.

 President Ramaphosa announces the long-awaited reshuffle of his cabinet. Tonight, Ramaphosa will unveil his cabinet reshuffle, filling crucial posts including Vice President and Electricity Minister. The long-awaited reshuffle of President Cyril Ramaphosa's cabinet will take place at 19:00 on Monday, March 6th. The President is anticipated to inform South Africa, among other vacancies, of the identity of the new second-in-command. The Presidency stated at roughly 18:30 that Ramaphosa's announcement would be made at 20:00. 

The table below summarises President Cyril Ramaphosa’s cabinet changes, as announced on 6 March 2023.

National Executive
PresidentCyril RamaphosaCyril Ramaphosa
Deputy PresidentDavid Mabuza (resigned)Paul Mashatile
PositionOld ministerNew minister
Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural DevelopmentThoko DidizaThoko Didiza
Basic EducationAngie MotshekgaAngie Motshekga
Communications and Digital TechnologiesKhumbudzo NtshavheniMondli Gungubele
Cooperative Governance and Traditional AffairsNkosazana Dlamini-ZumaThembi Nkadimeng
Defence and Military VeteransThandi ModiseThandi Modise
Employment and LabourThulas NxesiThulas Nxesi
Environment, Forestry and FisheriesBarbara CreecyBarbara Creecy
FinanceEnoch GodongwanaEnoch Godongwana
HealthJoe PhaahlaJoe Phaahla
Higher Education, Science and TechnologyBlade NzimandeBlade Nzimande
Home AffairsAaron MotsoalediAaron Motsoaledi
Human SettlementsMmamoloko Kubayi-NgubaneMmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane
International Relations and CooperationNaledi PandorNaledi Pandor
Justice and Correctional ServicesRonald LamolaRonald Lamola
Mineral Resources and EnergyGwede MantasheGwede Mantashe
PoliceBheki CeleBheki Cele
Public EnterprisesPravin GordhanPravin Gordhan
Public Service and AdministrationFormerly Ayanda Dlodlo (vacant since Nov. 2022)Noxolo Kiviet
Public Works and InfrastructurePatricia de LilleSihle Zikalala
Small Business DevelopmentStella Ndabeni-AbrahamsStella Ndabeni-Abrahams
Social DevelopmentLindiwe ZuluLindiwe Zulu
Sports, Arts and CultureNathi Mthethwa (Out)Zizi Kodwa
TourismLindiwe Sisulu (Out)Patricia de Lille
Trade and IndustryEbrahim PatelEbrahim Patel
TransportFikile Mbalula (Move ANC Office)Sindisiwe Chikunga
Water and SanitationSenzo MchunuSenzo Mchunu
The Presidency (Electricity)n/aKgosientso Ramokgopa
The Presidency (State Security, and other functions)Mondli GungubeleKhumbudzo Ntshavheni
The Presidency (Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation)Mondli GungubeleMaropene Ramokgopa
The Presidency (Women, Youth & Persons with Disabilities)Maite Nkoana-Mashabane (Out)Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
PositionOld deputy ministerNew deputy minister
Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural DevelopmentZoleka CapaZoleka Capa
Basic EducationReginah MhauleReginah Mhaule
Communications and Digital TechnologiesPhilly MapulanePhilly Mapulane
Cooperative Governance and Traditional AffairsThembi NkadimengParks Tau, Zolile Burns-Ncamashe
Correctional ServicesPatekile HolomisaPatekile Holomisa
Defence and Military VeteransThabang MakwetlaThabang Makwetla
Employment and LabourBoitumelo MoloiBoitumelo Moloi
Environment, Forestry and FisheriesMaggie SotyuMaggie Sotyu
FinanceDavid MasondoDavid Masondo
HealthSibongiseni DhlomoSibongiseni Dhlomo
Higher Education, Science and TechnologyButi ManamelaButi Manamela
Home AffairsNjabulo NzuzaNjabulo Nzuza
Human SettlementsPam TshwetePam Tshwete
International Relations and CooperationCandith Mashego-DlaminiCandith Mashego-Dlamini
International Relations and CooperationAlvin BotesAlvin Botes
Justice and Constitutional DevelopmentJohn JefferyJohn Jeffery
Mineral Resources and EnergyNobuhle NkabaneNobuhle Nkabane
PoliceCassel MathaleCassel Mathale
Public EnterprisesPhumulo Masualle (Out)Obed Bapela
Public Service and AdministrationChana Pilane-MajakeChana Pilane-Majake
Public Works and InfrastructureNoxolo KivietBernice Swarts
Small Business DevelopmentSdumo Dlamini (Out)Dipuo Peters
Social DevelopmentHendrietta Ipeleng Bogopane-ZuluHendrietta Ipeleng Bogopane-Zulu
Sports, Arts and CultureNocawe MafuNocawe Mafu
State Security (in the Presidency)Zizi KodwaZizi Kodwa
TourismFish MahlalelaFish Mahlalela
Trade and IndustryFikile MajolaFikile Majola
Trade and IndustryNomalungelo GinaNomalungelo Gina
TransportSindisiwe ChikungaLisa Mangcu
Water and SanitationDikeledi Magadzi (Out)David Mahlobo, Judith Tshabalala
The Presidency (State security)Thembi Siweya, Pinky KekanaNomasonto Motaung, Kenneth Morolong
The Presidency (Planning, Monitoring, and Evaluation)Thembi Siweya, Pinky KekanaPinky Kekana
Presidency (Women, Youth, and Persons with Disabilities)Hlengiwe Mkhize (Out)Sisisi Tolashe