Ramaphosa announces cabinet reshuffle
  • Development Bank of South Africa Enoch Godongwana as finance minister, replacing Tito Mboweni
  • Zweli Mkhize tendered his resignation and President Cyril Ramaphosa took the opportunity to reshuffle his Cabinet
  • One of the most shocking changes Ramaphosa made was to dissolve the ministry of state security and bring it under the mandate of the presidency
  • Ramaphosa made a number of sweeping changes to his Cabinet and restricted some departments 
Zweli Mkhize handed in his resignation late on Thursday which triggered a Cabinet reshuffle in which President Cyril Ramaphosa made sweeping changes. 

South Africans were stunned when Ramaphosa announced that the ministry of state security has been made redundant. The duties of the ministry will now fall under the mandate of the presidency. 

A number of other changes were made to Ramaphosa's cabinet such as Tito Mboweni stepping down as finance minister. He had asked to step down earlier in the year but Ramaphosa had asked him to stay on. Ramaphosa has not agreed to his request.

This is to ensure that the country’s domestic and foreign intelligence services more effectively enable the President to exercise his responsibility to safeguard the security and integrity of the nation.

With respect to ministers, I am making the following new appointments:

  1. – The Presidency: Mr Mondli Gungubele
  2. – Communications and Digital Technologies: Ms Khumbudzo Ntshavheni
  3. – Defence and Military Veterans: Ms Thandi Modise
  4. – Finance: Mr Enoch Godongwana
  5. – Health: Mr Joe Phaahla
  6. – Human Settlements: Ms Mmamoloko Kubayi
  7. – Public Service and Administration: Ms Ayanda Dlodlo
  8. – Small Business Development: Ms Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams
  9. – Tourism: Ms Lindiwe Sisulu
  10. – Water and Sanitation: Mr Senzo Mchunu

Minister Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula will be deployed to a new position, and we thank her for service to the nation and dedication to her responsibilities.
  1. With respect to deputy ministers, I am making the following appointments:
  2. – The Presidency: Ms Pinky Kekana will come in as a second Deputy Minister
  3. – Agriculture, Rural Development and Land Reform: Ms Zoleka Capa
  4. – Communications and Digital Technologies: Mr Philly Mapulane
  5. – Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs: Ms Thembi Nkadimeng
  6. – Health: Dr Sibongiseni Dhlomo
  7. – Mineral Resources and Energy: Dr Nobuhle Nkabane
  8. – Public Service and Administration: Dr Chana Pilane-Majake
  9. – Small Business Development: Mr Sdumo Dlamini
  10. – Transport: Ms Sindisiwe Chikunga
  11. – Water and Sanitation: Ms Dikeledi Magadzi

Mr Zizi Kodwa is appointed as Deputy Minister in the Presidency responsible for state security.