Parliament said it learned "with shock and devastation" that four Members of Parliament (MPs) in the National Assembly belonging to the Portfolio Committee on Basic Education have been involved in a tragic car accident near Paarl in Cape Town.

Also Read: #RIPTsekeleke Tsekeleke has passed away, Rest in Peace Fatty Boom Boom

"The MPs’ vehicle overturned while travelling to Paarl as part of oversight visits to various schools in the area. One of the MPs passed away at the scene. The three other MPs are seriously injured and are receiving emergency medical attention," read the statement.

Also Read: #RIPTsekeleke : Top 10 Kwaito stars musician who left us way too soon

Parliament will provide more information as soon as the family of the deceased MP has been informed.

The ANC released a statement naming the three MPS who were critically injured as Nomalungelo Gina of the ANC, Ian Ollis of the DA, and Cynthia Majeke of the UDM.

It also confirmed that the deceased MP is an ANC member.

The three injured MPs are currently receiving care at the Paarl Medi-Clinic.

The ANC deputy Chief Whip, Doris Dlakude is on her way to Paarl to identify the MP who has passed on and visit those in hospital.

The Minister of Basic Education, Angie Motshekga released a statement saying she is "devastated" by the news and expressed her shock and sadness at the passing of the MP, "whom she knows well and has worked with in Parliament for a number of years." She wished those in hospital a speedy recovery and said she would be monitoring their progress closely.

The Democratic Alliance released a statement on the accident, saying it was "shocked and deeply saddened to hear about the awful crash in which members of the Basic Education Portfolio Committee were involved."

"We join them in mourning their loss and wish them strength during this difficult time," read the DA statement.