Eskom has suspended power cuts to five municipalities after receiving outstanding payments. The municipalities have also put payment plans in place with Eskom.
The move comes after the North Gauteng High Court dismissed AfriForum’s recent application to prevent Eskom from cutting off supply to the municipalities, reported Fin24.

“Eskom will be monitoring the strict adherence to the payment plans and the payment of current accounts of these municipalities and any defaults will result in the interruption of supply without further notice,” said Eskom.
The amount owed by defaulting municipalities recently rose to R10.2 billion, said Eskom.

Power cuts

Eskom said it will continue with “supply interruptions” to municipalities which have not paid their bills, stated the report.
From today, Eskom will cut electricity to certain municipalities between:
  • 06:00-08:00 and 17:00-19:30 between Monday and Friday.
  • 08:30-11:00 and 15:00-17:30 on Saturday and Sunday.
According to the report, the municipalities which will receive power cuts are:
Free State
  • Dihlabeng: 16 January
  • Masilonyana: 16 January
Northern Cape
  • Ubuntu: 18 January
  • Renosterberg: 18 January
North West
  • Ventersdorp: 16 January
  • Mamusa: 16 January
  • Naledi: 16 January
  • Lekwa-Teemane: 18 January
  • Maquassi Hills: 18 January
  • Madibeng: 18 January
  • Kgetleng Rivier: 18 January
  • eMalahleni: 23 January
  • Mkhondo: 23 January
  • Mbombela: 23 January
  • Lekwa: 23 January
  • Msukaligwa: 23 January
  • Chief Albert Luthuli: 23 January