President Jacob Zuma on Tuesday announced he was establishing a Ministerial Task Team to normalise the situation at higher education institutions across South Africa.
The Task Team comprises eight members:
– The Minister in the Presidency for Planning‚ Monitoring and Evaluation‚ Mr Jeff Radebe as Convenor‚
– Minister of Higher Education and Training‚ Dr Bonginkosi “Blade” Nzimande
– Minister of Science and Technology‚ Ms Naledi Pandor
– Minister of Justice and Correctional Services‚ Advocate Michael Masutha
– Minister of Police‚ Mr Nathi Nhleko
– Minister of State Security‚ Mr David Mahlobo
– Minister of Defence and Military Veterans‚ Ms Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula‚ and
– Minister of Home Affairs‚ Mr Malusi Gigaba.
“We urge all stakeholders including students‚ university management‚ parents and religious leaders to cooperate with the Ministerial Task Team to ensure that the future of our children is not jeopardised‚” said President Zuma.
His office added that Government reiterates its full commitment to promoting access to higher education for the children of the poor and the working class.
“President Zuma has once again condemned acts of violence and the destruction of property and urged all students to return to class while solutions are collectively sought to the challenges of higher education in the country.”