An ad-hoc parliamentary committee has shortlisted 14 candidates to succeed Public Protector Thuli Madonsela when her term ends in October.

Chairperson of the committee, Makhosi Khoza, says the aim is to ensure fairness for all candidates.

“If running interviews over two days would have been unfair advantage over others - either way there will be weaknesses, but we will try our best, make sure members and candidates are not that exhausted.”

Watch the 14 candidates shortlisted to succeed Public Protector Thuli Madonsela interview for the position in parliament

eNCA - LIVE VIDEO: Interviews for Public Protector post - YouTube

SABC: Watch the interviews live.- Outgoing Public Protector Thuli Madonsela ends her term in office in October.
Candidates will be given 15 minutes each to motivate why they are suitable for the post, but civil organisations are concerned that the total time allocated to each candidate may not be enough.
The provisional line-up:
a)    Adv. MM Mthembu
07h45 -8h45
b)    Judge Sharise Erica Weiner
08h50- 9h50
c)    Adv. Chris Madibeng Mokoditwa
d)    Judge Serajudien Desai
11h00- 12:00
e)    Adjunct Prof. Narnia Bohler-Muller
f)     Adv. Mamiki Thabitha Goodman
g)    Ms Busisiwe Mkhwebane
h)    Ms Jill Claudelle Oliphant
i)      Ms Kaajal Ramjathan-Keogh
j)      Adv. Kevin Sifiso Malunga
k)    Mr Willam Andrew Hofmeyr
l)      Ms Muvhango Antoinette Lukhaimane
m)  Prof. Bongani Majola
n)    Adv. Nonkosi Princess Cetywayo

The ad hoc committee members are:

  1. • Dr Makhosi Khoza (ANC - chairperson)
  2. • Thomas Bongo (ANC)
  3. • Amos Masondo (ANC)
  4. • Nic Koornhof (ANC) 
  5. • Grace Tseke (ANC) 
  6. • Refilwe Mothapo (ANC) 
  7. • Patric Maesela (serving as an alternate member for the ANC) 
  8. • Julius Malema (EFF) 
  9. • Glynnis Breytenbach (DA) 
  10. • Phumzile van Damme (DA) 
  11. • James Selfe (DA - alternate) 
  12. • Werner Horn (DA – alternate) 
  13. • Steve Swart (ACDP) 
  14. • Sibusiso Mncwabe (NFP - alternate) 
  15. • Prof Themba Msimang (IFP)

Madonsela's seven-year term comes to an end mid-October.