The DA was set for a major victory in the Western Cape, looking to claim 19 municipalities 85% already completed. There are 30 municipalities in the Western Cape. These are divided into five rural districts and one metropolitan district, which is City of Cape Town.

Provisional results showed an increase in DA support across many municipalities and a possible two-thirds majority in the province.

Votes had been captured in all but the city of Cape Town, Knysna and Stellenbosch.

The municipalities to look out for possible coalitions were Laingsburg, Bitou, Witzenberg, Prince Albert and Beaufort West.