The ANC took six of these councils‚ while the Democratic Alliance (DA) won two.
In the Northern Cape‚ the ANC won Thembelihle‚ Kamiesberg and !Kheis municipalities.
In the Eastern Cape the ANC won the Blue Crane Route and Sundays River Valley municipalities.
In Mpumalanga the ANC was victorious in Victor Khanye.
The DA won the Bergrivier and Swellendam municipalities in the Western Cape.
With 27% of the votes counted around 4am‚ the ANC was dominating the national map with 49.74% of the votes. The DA had won 34.16% of the votes and the Economic Freedom Fighters had taken 6.05% of the votes.