The 2016 Comic Choice Awards are just a few weeks away, nominees have been announced and voting is now open for Savanna Audience Choice Comic!
The Savanna Comic Choice Awards 2016 will be held on Saturday, September 03 from the The Teatro at Montecasino in Johannesburg. It has been announced that this year’s show will mark 6 years of must-see moments.
Check below full list of Comic Choice Awards nominations…
The Savanna Newcomer Comic:
Snooze Kambuwa
Farhan Esat
Ebenhaezer Dibakwane
Phil de Lange
Thabo Kgaphola aka Summary
The Intermediate Comic:
Virgil Prins
Elton Mduduzi Ntuli
Glen Biderman-Pam
Yaaseen Barnes
Alfred Adriaan
The Comics’ Pen:
Christopher Steenkamp
Kagiso Lediga
Mojak Lehoko
ZA News
Lazola Gola
The Best Friend of Comedy: 
Goliath & Goliath
David Kau/Blacks Only Brand
Cape Town Comedy Club
On Fire Comedy/Jess Knauf & Jem Atkins
Gino Fernandez
The Flying Solo Comic: 
Loyiso Gola
Marc Lottering
Alan Committie
Mashabela Galane
Skhumba Hlophe
The Non-English Comic: 
Celeste Ntuli
Skhumba Hlophe
Chris Mapane
Mashabela Galane
Collen Chepi aka SALESMAN
The Edgars Comic Of The Year: 
Loyiso Gola
Skhumba Hlophe
Boitumelo Osei-Tutu aka TUMI MORAKE
Mashabela Galane
Carvin Goldstone
The Breakthrough Award:
Skhumba Hlophe
Alfred Adriaan
Virgil Prins
Celeste Ntuli
Dillan Oliphant
The Savanna Audience Choice Comic:
As always, the awards afford the public a chance to have their say in who they think should take home a Waldo, and voting stays open until August 26th.
If you want to win a VIP experience to the awards bash, vote now by SMS’ing your favourite comedian’s unique code to 37303.
You can vote 20 times (if you can’t choose just one favourite comedian!)
· Thabo Kgaphola aka SUMMARY unique code 64262
· Godfrey Marosha unique code 36524
· Gabriel Thaelo Dibe aka MALOME SHORTY unique code 39999
· Elton Mduduzi Ntuli unique code 48936
· Collen Chepi aka SALESMAN unique code 79867
The Lifetime Achiever:
And of course, in what has become the traditional high point of the Savanna Comics’ Choice Press Lunch, the recipient of the Lifetime Achiever was announced.
Casper De Vries is undoubtedly a pioneer in South African comedy. His career has spanned television, film and stage.
In true CCA style, Casper de Vries will be ‘grilled’ by the cast of the recent hit Afrikaans stand-up extravaganza, “Magtag!” at Parker’s Comedy Club on July 27th. To watch a panel of ‘grill masters’ hurl comedic insults in the most endearing way, book your tickets from the venue directly or through Computicket.
The main awards ceremony takes place at The Teatro at Montecasino on September 3rd. This year top comedian and TV director, Rob van Vuuren takes the helm to direct what will no doubt be another hilarious variety show made up of sketches, stand-up, impressionists, celebrity performances, choreography and witty one liners delivered by SA’s top comedians.
Limited tickets are available to the public, so book now through TicketPro:
Ticket prices from R 250.0