The National Assembly has voted against removing President Jacob Zuma from office.
Following a spirited debate, 233 members voted against the motion, 143 voted in favour and there were no abstentions.
MPs on Tuesday debated the removal of Zuma, after a motion filed by DA leader Mmusi Maimane.
This after the Constitutional Court last week ruled that Zuma failed to uphold the Constitution when he did not comply with Public Protector Thuli Madonsela's remedial action regarding the non-security upgrades to his Nkandla homestead.
Pleas by opposition MPs for ANC MPs to vote to remove Zuma fell on deaf areas.
For the motion to pass, over 260 MPs needed to vote in favour of it, meaning over 100 ANC MPs had to vote against the party line.