BAFANA Bafana head coach, Ephraim “Shakes” Mashaba, has finally realised the importance of calling up Brilliant Khuzwayo to his squad to face Angola in two 2018 Fifa World Cup matches.
Khuzwayo was a marvel to watch during Saturday’s Soweto derby when Kaizer Chiefs beat Orlando Pirates 6-5 on penalties in the Telkom Knockout semifinals at FNB Stadium.
Both teams were locked 0-0 after 120 minutes of interesting football.
For his heroics, Khuzwayo was called up to replace his Kaizer Chiefs counterpart, Itumeleng Khune, who is down with a knee injury that he picked up last week Thursday.
Khune will undergo a knee operation this week which will see him miss both Bafana versus Angola matches scheduled for Friday in Angola and at Durban’s Moses Mabhida Stadium on 17 November.
Safa confirmed through their social pages yesterday that Mashaba has called up Khuzwayo: “Brilliant has been called up to replace the injured Khune in the Bafana squad to face Angola,” a statement said.
The SA national team, who were knocked out of the Championship of African Nations (Chan) by the same Angola, assembled in camp in Milpark, Joburg on Sunday and will depart for Angola on Tuesday.
In 10 meetings since 1996, Bafana Bafana have only lost once to Angola – in the CHAN qualifiers -  with three matches drawn and winning the rest.
1. Brilliant KHUZWAYO Kaizer Chiefs  FC (SA)
2. Jackson MABOKGWANE Mpumalanga Aces FC (SA)
3. Ronwen WILLIAMS Supersport United FC (SA)

4. Siyabonga NHLAPHO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
5. Lehlohonolo NONYANE Mpumalanga Aces  FC (SA)
6 Anele NGCONGCA Troyes  FC (France)
7. Thabo MATLABA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
8. Clayton DANIELS Supersport United FC (SA)
9. Erick MATHOHO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
10. Rivaldo COETZEE Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
11. Thulani HLATSHWAYO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)

12. Andile JALI KV Oostende FC (Belgium)
13. Kamohelo MOKOTJO FC Twente  (NED)
14. Phumlani NTSHANGASE Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
15. Bongani  ZUNGU Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
16. George LEBESE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
17. Dean FURMAN Supersport United FC (SA)
18.  Mpho MAKOLA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
19. Mandla MASANGO Randers FC (Denmark)
20. Themba ZWANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

21.  Thamsanqa GABUZA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
22. Thulani SERERO Ajax Amsterdam FC (NED)
23. Sibusiso VILAKAZI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
24. Tokelo RANTIE Bournemouth FC (ENG)
25. Dino NDLOVU Anorthosis Famagusta FC (Cyprus)